Readathon

A Vlog, But Not Really – ReadathonByZoe | En Vlog, Men Ikke Rigtigt – ReadathonByZoe

On March 3rd I participated in ReadathonByZoe, which is an 24-hour readathon made by readbyzoe over on youtube. I didn’t expect to actually read all 24 hours, but I did want to at least read More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera and A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness. I decided to write anything down if I felt like it, so that is basically what this post is. It does contain spoilers for More Happy Than Not and A Monster Calls so if you havn’t read either of those, you probably shouldn’t read this! I’ve split it into two parts – the first part is where I read More Happy Than Not and the second part is A Monster Calls.

 

More Happy Than Not

00:01: The first book I’ll be reading is More Happy Than Not. I’ve tired to read it two times before, so we’ll see how it goes. I think I’m going to just skim the first couple of pages. I don’t think I’ll be up for much longer, but I want to at least read a little as the readathon officially has begun for me.

09:43: yesterday I read the pages that I’ve read twice before in More Happy Than Not, so now I just have the parts I don’t know anything about – which is always more fun.

11:06: I’m currently on page 108, and I’m so confused? Maybe I just didn’t pick up on it, but where did the book ever hint at Thomas being gay? How does Aaron know? I know what the book is about and of course Aaron can know about it without Thomas telling him – because sometimes you just know – but that chapter seems so confusing to me?

11:35: on page 136. I had this problem in they both die at the end too, where I didn’t believe in their romantic feeling for each other. I like Thomas and Aaron as friends and I think they really compliment each other, but I don’t really feel any other connection. And it’s partly because of how well Aaron and Genevieve’s relationship was set up and then suddenly that doesn’t matter anymore? It’s fine that Aaron only has realized something about himself now, but in my eyes it seems so sudden. I understand that part of why he is with her is because A) he does of course like her one way or another and B) because she is there for him, but at the same time those feelings of love seemed so genuine that the change seemed really sudden.

11:51: on page 151. Failed kiss. So maybe Aaron’s ‘realization’ about Thomas sexuality was more about himself?

13:43: I took a long break, but now I’m on page 173 and things are happening. I think all the confusing parts are actually going to make sense. Maybe I’ll actually end up loving this book in the end.

13:58: on page 187. I loooove how every little thing is connected. Funny how I complained about the book not giving hints or how I didn’t feel any connection between some of the character/plot, but now that lack of connection actually makes sense.

14:12: on page 196. I hate Collin

13:26: page 215. The “realization” Aaron had about Thomas could also just be a replacement in memories of how Collin was gay. So instead of figuring out that Collin was gay he replaced that scenario and the person with Thomas. I feel like I think about this kind of stuff too late and then I feel slightly stupid for not thinking about it before. But it’s fun.

15:23: I finished More Happy Than Not. I definitely liked the second half more than the first. I do think the second half added something to the first half that made it a little better, but I do also remember being a little bored waiting for it to get better. I think I’ll give it 4 stars, just because of how amazing the second half was. I didn’t cry, but I’m glad I at least now can see why so many people have said they cried. I think it’s a book I won’t forget anytime soon, partly because of the story itself but also just because of the experience I had. I went from not really liking it to REALLY liking it!
I think I’ll take I little break now, and then move on to A Monster Calls.

A Monster Calls

19:03: I’m on page 125 in A Monster Calls. I took a longer break than expected but I also had to eat and go on a walk with my dog – but now I’m back! I really like the illustrations and the story so far. I’m pretty sure this is the kind of story where it gets really good near the end, so I’m looking forward to that.

19:37: I’m on page 184 and almost done and I’ve cried. I honestly didn’t think I would but here I am, and it was mostly just because of the sentence; ‘I did not come to heal her, the Monster said. I came to heal you’

20:03: I finished A Monster Calls.  It’s weird because I loved it and I cried, but it’s such a different feeling from how I normally feel for other books I love. I think it’s mostly because of how human and ‘normal’ the story is. I’m gonna wait a little before I rate it just so I can relax and think about it.

21:05: I took a break and now I’m reading ready player one as it was available for me as an ebook yesterday. I don’t think I’ll read a lot of it today but we’ll see. I’ve only read the introduction/chapter one so far.

22:14: I don’t think I’ll read more today. I tend to get really tired around this time, so I don’t think I have any energy left in me to read. But I did complete my goal of reading More Happy Than Not and A Monster Calls, so I’m really happy about that!

 

Hours Read: 6:18:12
Books Read
: 2 + first chapter of Ready Player One
Pages Read: 
547


 

Marts d. 3 deltog jeg i ReadathonByZoe, hvilket er en 24-timers readathon, lavet af readbyzoe over på youtube. Jeg forventede ikke at læse hele tiden, men jeg ville i det mindste gerne læse Den Dag Jeg Glemmer af Adam Silvera og Monster af Patrick Ness. Jeg valgte at skrive hvad som helst ned, hvis jeg havde lyst, så det er grundlæggende, hvad dette indlæg er. Der er Spoiler for Den Dag Jeg Glemmer og Monster, så hvis du ikke har læst dem, burde du nok ikke læse dette! Jeg har delt det ind i to dele – den første del er, hvor jeg læser Den Dag Jeg Glemmer og den anden del er Monster.

 

Den Dag Jeg Glemmer

00:01: Den første bog jeg vil læse er Den Dag Jeg Glemmer. Jeg har prøvet at læse den to gange før, så nu må vi se hvordan det går. Jeg tror, jeg bare vil skimme de første par sider. Jeg tror ikke, jeg vil være oppe ret meget længere, men jeg vil i det mindste læse bare lidt, da readathonen officielt er startet for mig.

09:43: I går læste jeg de sider, som jeg har læst to gange før i Den Dag Jeg Glemmer, så nu har jeg kun de dele tilbage, som jeg ikke ved noget som helst om – hvilket altid er sjovere.

11:06: Lige nu er jeg på side 108, og jeg er så forvirret? Måske fangede jeg det bare ikke, men hvor har bogen nogensinde givet hint om, at Thomas er homoseksuel? Hvordan ved Aaron det? Jeg ved, hvad bogen omhandler, og selfølgelig kan Aaron have viden omkring det uden, at Thomas har fortalt det – fordi nogle gange ved man det bare – men det kapitel var utroligt forvirrende for mig?

11:35: På side 136. Jeg havde også det her problem med De Dør Begge Til Sidst, hvor jeg ikke troede på deres romantiske følelser for hinanden. Jeg kan lide Thomas og Aaron som venner, og synes virkelig de passer godt sammen, men jeg ser ikke rigtig nogen anden forbindelse end det. Og det er delvis på grund af, hvor godt Arron og Genevieve’s forhold var fortalt, og så er det pludselig bare lige meget? Det er fint at Aaron først har indset noget om ham selv nu, men i mine øjne virker det bare så pludseligt. Jeg forstår godt at nogle af grundene til at han er sammen med hende er A) han selvfølgelig godt lide hende på en eller anden måde og B) fordi hun er der for ham, men samtidig virkede de følelser så oprindelige og ændringen virkede utrolig pludselig.

11:51: På side 151. Mislykkedes kys. Så måske var Aaron’s “opdagelse” omkring Thomas’ seksualitet mere omkring ham selv?

13:43: Jeg tog en lang pause, men nu er jeg på side 173 og ting sker. Jeg tror, at alle de forvirrende dele faktisk kommer til at give mening. Måske ender jeg med at elske denne bog i sidste ende.

13:58: På side 187. Jeg eeeeeelsker, hvordan alle de små ting er forbundet. Det er sjovt, hvordan jeg klagede over, at bogen ikke gav nogen hints eller, hvordan jeg ikke følte nogen forbindelse mellem nogle af karaktererne/plottet, men nu giver den manglende forbindelse faktisk mening.

14:12: På side 196. Jeg hader Collin.

13:26: Side 215. “Opdagelsen” Aaron havde om Thomas kunne også bare være en udskiftning i hans hukommelsen om, hvordan Collin var homoseksuel. Så i stedet for at finde ud af, at Collin var homoseksuelt, udskiftede han det scenarie og person med Thomas. Jeg har det lidt som om, at jeg tænker over disse ting lidt for sent, og så føler jeg mig en smule dum over, ikke at have tænkt over det før. Men det er sjovt.

15:23: Jeg er færdig med Den Dag Jeg Glemmer. Jeg kunne helt sikkert bedre lide den anden halvdel end den første. Jeg synes dog, at den anden halvdel gav et eller andet til den første halvdel, som gjorde den en smule bedre, men jeg husker dog også at kede mig en smule, mens jeg ventede på, at den blev bedre. Jeg tror, jeg giver den 4 stjerner på grund af, hvor god den anden halvdel var. Jeg græd ikke, men jeg er glad for, at jeg i det mindste nu kan se, hvorfor så mange siger, at de græd til denne bog. Jeg tror, det er en bog, som jeg ikke vil glemme med det samme, delvis på grund af selve historien, men også bare på grund af, den oplevelsen jeg havde med bogen. Jeg gik fra ikke rigtigt at kunne lide den til at VIRKELIG godt kunne lide den.
Jeg tror, jeg tager en ligge pause nu, og så vil jeg begynde på Monster.

Monster

19:03: Jeg er på side 125 i Monster. Jeg tog en længere pause end forventet, men jeg skulle også spise og gå med min hund – men nu er jeg tilbage! Jeg kan rigtig godt lide illustrationerne og historien indtil videre. Jeg er rimelig sikker på, at dette er den form for bog, hvor den bliver virkelig god nær slutningen, så jeg ser frem til det.

19:37: Jeg er på side 184 og snart færdig og jeg har grædt. Jeg troede helt ærligt ikke, at jeg ville, men her er jeg, og det jeg mest bare på grund af sætningen; ‘I did not come to heal her, the Monster said. I came to heal you’

20:03: Jeg er færdig med Monster. Det er mærkeligt, fordi jeg elskede den, og jeg græd, men det er sådan en anderledes følelse, end hvad jeg normalt føler for bøger, jeg elsker. Jeg tror, det er mest fordi, at historien er så menneskelig og ‘normal’. Jeg venter lidt, før jeg giver den stjerne, så jeg kan slappe lidt af og tænke over den.

21:05: Jeg tog en pause, og nu læser jeg Ready Player One, da den var tilgængelig for mig som ebog i går. Jeg tror ikke, jeg vil læse en masse af den i dag, men nu må vi se. Jeg har kun læst introduktionen/kapitel et indtil videre.

22:14: Jeg tror ikke jeg vil læse mere i dag. Jeg plejer at blive træt omkring denne tid, så jeg tror ikke, at jeg har nogen energi tilbage i mig til at læse. Men jeg nåede mit mål i at læse Den Dag Jeg Glemmer og Monster, så det er jeg glad for!

 

Timer Læst: 6:18:12
Bøger Læst
: 2 + first chapter of Ready Player One
Sider Læst: 
547

3 thoughts on “A Vlog, But Not Really – ReadathonByZoe | En Vlog, Men Ikke Rigtigt – ReadathonByZoe”

Leave a comment